top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEthan Toney

Prototyping Games

I've found that after prototyping a game idea, that there are always a few reasons I never continue the idea:


  1. The idea is too boring - the game loop just wasn't great or good. These games I deleted or keep the code to some of the features.

  2. The idea was too complicated/didn't know how to build it/scope too large - sometimes the game loop is simply too big to handle for one person, and sometimes certain features are outside my skills for the moment. These game ideas are ones I normally shelve.

  3. I lose motivation/no passion - some game ideas are pretty good, but it's easy to lose motivation while building them because I'm not passionate about the idea. I got the game loop done but not interested in building a final game.


Those are my main reason for why I prototype and why I really don't finish games. That being said, I've actually finished a game on Itch.io called Creature Slayer. Go ahead and check it out!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Back To Web Development

I've been building games and prototypes for the past few years now. I've gotten pretty good with C#. I had originally started in web...

The Gaming Industry Worsens

As we see more layoffs, the sacking of union workers, and more within the industry, now is the time to be reminded: corporate capitalism...

New Year News

I've started two projects this year that I plan on sticking with (alongside various smaller side projects I may or may not complete)....

Comments


bottom of page